Jay Loeffler, M.D., FACR, FASTRO

Board Certified Radiation Oncologist

Jay Loeffler, M.D., FACR, FASTRO

Dr. Loeffler is the Herman and Joan Suit Professor Emeritus Harvard Medical School and former Professor of Neurosurgery Harvard Medical School. He is the past Chairperson of Radiation Oncology at the Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School (2000-2020), and the former Director of the Francis H. Burr Proton Therapy Center at Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School, the 2nd hospital-based proton therapy center in the nation.

He is an author of over 400 publications, co-editor of nine cancer text books and holds funding from the National Cancer Institute in proton therapy. His work helped develop the use of stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS), now the mainstay treatment for benign and malignant intracranial tumors. This pivotal research paved the way for the eventual development of stereotactic ablative radiotherapy (SABR), also known as stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT), which is now widely used for malignancies throughout the body.

As a physician, I approach patients as a whole person rather than someone with a single diagnosis. Treating cancer is much more than prescribing treatment and involves learning about a patient as a person, their emotion, families, hobbies, and what is most important to them in their daily lives.

Board Certification:
  • American Board of Radiology
Experience & Education:
  • Jacob Fabrikant Award for Lifetime Achievement in the field of stereotactic radiosurgery.
  • Herman and Joan Suit Professor of Radiation Oncology, Radiation Oncology, Harvard Medical School.
  • Chair, Radiation Oncology, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • 2016 -2018 Professor of Neurosurgery, Harvard Medical School
  • 1985-1986 Chief Resident, Joint Center for Radiation Therapy, Harvard Medical School
  • 1984-1986 Fellowship, Harvard School of Public Health
  • 1983-1985 Residency, Joint Center for Radiation Therapy, Harvard Medical School
  • 1983-1985 Fellowship, Joint Center for Radiation Therapy, Harvard Medical School
  • 1982 M.D., Brown University School of Medicine